Congratulations to Bowen Steffert, who has come first place in the Manu Korero Competition in June 2024.

Massey University are holding a number of Taster Days / Workshops at their Manawatu Campus during the July School Holidays. These are free but you will need to register as numbers are limited.

Tuesday 9th July Ag and Hort

Wednesday 10th July Food Technology (Science Based)

Thursday 11th July Biology

Thursday 11th July Sport and Recreation workshop

There are also a number of online Webinars available to view.

Make an informed decision regarding your future.

Massey University Events


We had six boys participate in the 2024 Ngāti Kahungunu Regional Kapa Haka Competition in late February. 

Ropata Henare, Tyrese Ripley and Shaedyn Tangohau were part of the Te Rerenga Kotuku roopu along with staff member Mr Josh Hurae.

They placed 2nd  overall which will see Te Rerenga Kotuku qualify to perform at Te Matatini 2025. 

We also had Kingston Reid, Robin McKenzie and Te Iwi Teneti perform at the same competition. Kingston's group Te Kapa Haka o Ngati Kahungunu placed third which also booked them a place at Te Matatini 2025. 

Acknowledgement to those six students and Mr Josh Hurae for upholding the mana of the kura and our own Kapa Haka group Te Roopu Manu Huia. We are immensely proud of you all. 

The school would like to remind the wider school community of our policy relating to the use of Artificial Intelligence (AI) when completing assessment work at Hastings Boys' High School.

The school acknowledges that AI applications (such as ChatGPT) can be useful tools to get ideas that can then be further developed during the research process. However, copying text from AI applications and then pasting it into assessment work is not permitted under any circumstances. 

The school policy on plagiarism clearly states this. Earlier in the year both students and whānau were informed of this policy, and students in particular are well aware that they are not permitted to use text generated by AI and pass it off as their own.

Please note that any student who is deemed to have used AI text in their assessment will receive a Not Achieved grade and it will be recorded as plagiarism on KAMAR.

If you would like to discuss our plagiarism policy further, please feel free to contact the school at any stage

University Scholarships for Year 13 Students

  • MoneyHub has published a guide to hundreds of scholarships for any student planning to start university in 2025.
  • is the link.
  • The comprehensive list includes scholarships offered by every university as well as those specifically available to local students.
  • A list of privately-funded, Maori, Pacific and International university scholarships completes the list
  • Applications close throughout the year, with tens of millions of dollars available.
  • MoneyHub has also published a list of tips for scholarship success. 

Junior Graduation Programme

Hastings Boys' High School will start their new Junior Graduation programme at the start of Term 2. The aim of the graduation programme is:

  • To encourage students to work to achieve their best
  • To provide timely and indicative snap shots of progress and achievement
  • To actively reward both achievement and effort at all ability levels
  • To further support out identification of students that require additional support
  • To provide data that can be used by form teachers in their role as academic mentors
  • To provide additional understandable data to parents on academic achievement and attendance

Students will be graded on four criteria every two weeks and the outcomes will be readily available to all students and families/whānau on their student app accounts. The criteria ae:

  • Learning progress
  • Attendance
  • Co-curricular participation
  • Ākina Man Values

Students who are not meeting the expected criteria will be quickly identified and provided with additional support and guidance to assist them in improving.

At the end of the year the students will either:

  • Graduate with Achieved
  • Graduate with Merit
  • Graduate with Excellence
  • Fail to Graduate

All graduates will be recognised at Junior Prizegiving.

Prefects 2024

Back Row: Matehaere Kururangi,Dylan Nel, Jonah Cooper, Atlas Hepi-Tilton, Te-Karakia Winitana, Manwinder Nagra, Membrenz Tahu, Joseph Lilo-Iosefo
Middle Row: Dennis Feliuai, Isireli Qaranivalu, Max Thornton, Teina Robin, Elijah Talalupe, Logan Timmins, Cameron McKay
Front Row: Beau Heibner, Bowen Steffert (Community Captain), Marcus Leach (Academic Captain), Osiris White Munro (Head Boy), Brayden Reeve (Deputy Head Boy), Carter Smith (Sports Captain), Mike Brown (Cultural Captain), Callan Robson
Absent: Isaac Isaako